BJP, Congress corporators to challenge BRS MLA aiming for fourth consecutive win in Rajendranagar

T Prakash Goud has been winning the constituency since 2009 and will be taking on Kasthuri Narendar from the Congress and Tokala Srinivas Reddy from the BJP

BJP, Congress corporators to challenge BRS MLA aiming for fourth consecutive win in Rajendranagar

District: Rangareddy

MLA: T Prakash Goud (Goud)

Reservation: GEN

Total Voters: 5,19,799

Booths: 535

Urban Voters: 80%

Rural Voters: 20%

Male: 53.6 %

Female: 46.3 %

Caste & Religious Demography:

Gen + BC: 85.60 %

SC: 11.70 %

ST: 2.70 %

Hindu: 66 %

Muslim: 29 %

Others : 5%

Candidates profile

Tolkanti Prakash Goud (BRS)

T Prakash Goud was born in Shamshabad. He was initially into toddy business, but later branched out into real estate, cinema distribution and running liquor shops. Prakash started his political career with the TDP. He is a follower of Erraballi Dayakar Rao. He contested for the first time from Rajendranagar in 2009 and later in 2014 on a TDP ticket and won on both the occasions. In 2016, Prakash Goud defected to the TRS (now BRS) in the presence of his political guru Erraballi Dayakar Rao. In 2018, he contested on a BRS ticket and won successfully for the third time by a huge margin of 58,373 votes. He is now looking to make it four in a row.

Kasthuri Narendar (Congress)

Kasthuri Narendar has been fielded by the Congress. He currently serves as the chairman of Manikonda municipality but is more of an alien face beyond that location.

Tokala Srinivas Reddy (BJP)

He is known as a trendsetter for the saffron party in Rajendranagar. Srinivas Reddy led the BJP campaign for the GHMC elections in 2020 that flattened the BRS. He ensured that the party got a resounding victory in three of the five GHMC divisions in the constituency. Buoyed by this performance, the BJP gave him an MLA ticket.

Constituency information

Rajendranagar Assembly was formed in 2009 after delimitation. Earlier, it was part of the Chevella Assembly constituency. The constituency consists of three mandals, such as Rajendranagar, Shamshabad, and Gandipet. It is further divided into five GHMC divisions that include Rajendranagar, Attapur, Suleman Nagar, Shastripuram, and Mailardevpally. Apart from this, the gigantic constituency covers four Urban Local Bodies (ULBs), such as Bandlaguda Jagir Municipal Corporation, Narsinghi, Manikonda, and Shamshabad municipalities. Gouds and Muslims dominate the constituency.

Election analysis


  • TDP won this seat with its traditional vote bank of BCs and Andhra settler
  • The Muslim vote bank was divided between both the Congress and the AMIM
  • SC and ST votes remained with the Congress
  • The TRS stood a distant third in this election.


  • With sitting TDP MLA joining the TRS, there was a clear shift of votes. The Goud vote bank completely shifted to the TRS
  • The TRS secured over 80,000 more votes than in 2014
  • The TDP again contested this Assembly in alliance with the Congress.
  • The TDP and the AIMIM ended up dividing the Muslim voters
  • The AIMIM secured 40,000 maintained its position
  • The BJP has improved its position and secured 19,000 votes

Current Scenario

  • Currently, the sitting MLA is facing huge anti incumbency, but the seat is still favourable to the TRS.
  • The BJP plans to consolidate the BC votes, section of SC and other Hindu voter groups
  • The AIMIM and Congress is in fray to split the Muslim votes

Key local issues

  • Lack of colleges, employment at the local level
  • Government schemes have not reached the entire population
  • Civic issues especially road works
Next Story

Similar Posts