BRS candidate Sunitha Laxma Reddy has to deal with sulking Madan Reddy, Congress ahead in Narsapur

Both the Congress and the BJP lack strong leadership in the constituency to defeat Sunitha Laxma Reddy

BRS candidate Sunitha Laxma Reddy has to deal with sulking Madan Reddy, Congress ahead in Narsapur

Assembly Constituency : Narsapur

Parliament: Medak

District: Medak

MLA Name: Chilumula Madan Reddy (Reddy)

MP Name: Kotha Prabhakar Reddy

Reservation: GEN

Total Voters: 2,10,481 Rural Voters: 100%

Booths: 305 Male: 50%

Urban Voters: 0% Female: 50%

Caste & Religious Demography:

  • Gen + OBC: 71.6%
  • SC: 16.9%
  • ST: 11.5%
  • Hindu: 92.1%
  • Muslim: 6.7%
  • Others :1%


Vakiti Sunitha Laxma Reddy (BRS)

The present Telangana State Commission for Women Chairperson Vakiti Sunitha Laxma Reddy was elected from the Narsapur Assembly constituency three times. She was the Minister for Minor Irrigation in the YS Rajasekhara Reddy and K Rosaiah’s cabinets. She handled pensions and the Indira Kranti Yojana portfolio in N Kiran Kumar Reddy's cabinet. She lost the election in 2014 from Medak Lok Sabha Constituency. She joined the BRS in 2019.

Aavula Raji Reddy (INC)

Aavula Raji Reddy of the Congress has the chance of starting an early campaign as the BRS delayed nominating its candidate. The Congress is hoping that the sulking stalwart Madan Reddy would stay away from the campaign. However, he never contested elections after the formation of Telangana representing the Congress and testing water in the majority of mandals in the Assembly constituency.

Erragolla Murali Yadav (BJP)

The BJP leader is facing an uphill task to give a tough fight in Narsapur, as the vote share of the saffron party was only two percent in the 2018 elections. Erragolla who was Narsapur Municipal Chairman was suspended from the BRS party last year for anti-party activity. He later joined the BJP.

AC information:

Geography: Geographically, this assembly constituency consists of Kowdipalle, Kulcharam, Narsapur (Semi-Urban), Hathnoora, Yeldurthy and Shivampet Mandals.This assembly was formed in 1952. Candidates from backward classes and Reddy communities have always won from this constituency. The contest in this Assembly was between the INC & CPI and of two personalities Chowti Jagannath Rao (INC) and Chilumala Vithal Reddy (CPI) for three decades.

Vithal Reddy won in 1978,1985, 1989 and 1994 and Jagannath won in 1983. The seat was wrested from Vithal Reddy by V. Sunitha Laxma Reddy (INC) in 1999. After that, she won four times in successive elections. In 2014 TRS candidate Chilumula Madan Reddy wrested this seat from INC

MLA Profile:

Personal Background: Chilumula Madan Reddy hails from an agricultural family

Profession: Agriculture and Politics

Political Background: He Started his political journey with the TDP. He contested from the Narsapur constituency in 2004 from TDP and stood a distinctive second. Earlier in undivided AP, he worked as Director of Andhra Pradesh State Irrigation Development Corporation (APSIDC), for two terms.

He was appointed as the Chairman of the District Library Committee of the Medak District. Later he joined TRS during the Telangana movement along with KCR. He was offered an Assembly ticket in 2014AE by the TRS, and he was elected as a Member of the Legislative Assembly of Narsapur Constituency of Medak District from the TRS Party and got re-elected in 2018.

Cadre Strength: His cadre strength is average and limited. He has depended more on the party's organisational capacity.

Financial Strength: Strong

2014 Assembly Analysis

The anti-incumbency against then sitting MLA and Minister V Sunitha Laxma Reddy. The TRS wave and his persistent movement against Sunith Laxma Reddy's political dominance for two decades has favoured Chiumula Madan Reddy to wrest the seat from the INC. The traditional vote base of the left parties has been shifted to the TRS in 2014.

2018 Assembly Analysis

Chilumula Madan Reddy increased his vote share compared to 2014AE. He gained almost 15000 votes, although he has anti against him and multiple land grabbing cases etc. - V Sunitha Laxma Reddy was inaccessible after she lost the election in 2014, her cadre shifted loyalties to the TRS. The gain is significantly seen in the urban mandals Narsapur and Yeldurthi where most of the BC voters are concentrated.

Current Situation

With Sunith Lakshma Reddy joining the TRS, there is friction between the sitting MLA Madan Reddy and her despite the truce brought by the BRS chief KCR. The MLA is mostly inaccessible to people and multiple cases of land grabbing, corruption and underdevelopment were mentioned by her opponents in the assembly. Both the Congress and the BJP lack strong leadership in the constituency to defeat Sunitha Laxma Reddy.

Key Local Issues:

  • Drinking water
  • Girl child trafficking
  • Unemployment
  • Housing
  • Industrial pollution
Next Story

Similar Posts