BRS's Malla Reddy hopes to beat anti-incumbency in Medchal

Malla Reddy is in the process of making Medchal an opposition-free constituency and the Congress cadre is building its cadre on Revanth Reddy's charisma

BRSs Malla Reddy hopes to beat anti-incumbency in Medchal

Assembly Constituency- Medchal

District: Medchal–Malkajgiri

MLA: Chamakura Malla Reddy (BRS)

Reservation: GEN

Total Voters: 5,67,711

Booths: 580

Urban Voters: 63%

Rural Voters: 37%

Male: 53%

Female: 47%

Caste & Religious Demography:

  • Gen + BC: 83.2%
  • SC: 13.4%
  • ST: 3.3%
  • Hindu:89.2%
  • Muslim: 6.2%
  • Others: 4.6%


Chamakura Malla Reddy (BRS)

Malla Reddy was born on September 9, 1953 and brought up in Bowenpally. He pursued his Intermediate in Mahabubia Junior College. He is a businessman and owns educational institutions including engineering colleges and medical colleges. He also invested in various real-estate and infra projects.

Malla Reddy began his political career with the TDP in 2014. He was elected as a Member of Parliament for Malkajgiri. He was the only MP for the TDP to win a seat in Telangana. In June 2016, he shifted his loyalties to the TRS (now BRS). He is currently serving as Minister for Labour and Employment, Factories, Skill Development, Women and Child Welfare in Telangana State Government.

Thotakura Vajresh Yadav (INC)

Vajresh Yadav aka Jangaiah Yadav was born October 19, 1965. His parents are Thotakura Yellaiah and Yellamma. He was brought up in Boduppal of Medipally mandal in Medchal-Malkajgiri district. He pursued SSC from ZP high school in Boduppal. After finishing his studies, he began his political journey as a youth president for Shivaji Youth Club in 1988.

He became active in politics with the PRP in 2009. Jangaiah Yadav contested on behalf of the PRP and was defeated by Congress candidate Kichannagari Laxma Reddy. In 2014, he joined the TDP and contested as an MLA in the Assembly elections. He was defeated by TRS candidate Malipedhi Sudheer Reddy. In 2016, he served as the TDP district president of Medchal-Malkajgiri. In 2018, he joined the INC and in 2022 he was appointed as coordinator of Medchal constituency.

Patlolla Vikram Reddy (BJP)

Vikram Reddy was born May 24, 1972 in Gundlapochampally village in Medchal district. In 1991, he joined the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and was appointed as Bagh Pramukh of Medchal region. He holds a Master’s degree in 2001 from PG College in Secunderabad and received a law degree certificate from AV College in Hyderabad in 2005.

Vikram Reddy began his political career with the BJP in 2001. He served as the BJYM State vice president and State secretary of the Telangana BJP unit. The BJP designated him as a national executive member and he also served as BJYM State president, Adilabad in-charge and district president of Medchal rural. He is going face Jangaiah Yadav from the INC and Ch Malla Reddy of the BRS in the 2023 Assembly elections.

Assembly constituency information:

  • In the last six major elections, the INC won twice and the TRS won four times in the constituency
  • The constituency is likely to witness a fight once again between the INC and the BRS.
  • The constituency is a Reddy dominated seat
  • From 2009 to 2018 Assembly elections, all the MLA's belonging to the Reddy community won in the constituency
  • Seven municipalities and three municipal corporations are in the constituency
  • Medchal has the highest number of municipalities inTelangana
  • The constituency also comes under the Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority.
  • Medchal predominately is a rural assembly and it is developed with the presence of pharmaceutical and agricultural industries,
  • The constituency is an educational and IT hub.

Cultural / Historical / Religious Identifiers

  • Kesaragutta Temple
  • Shamirpet Lake
  • Kandlakoya Oxygen Park
  • Jawahar Deer Park
  • Genome Valley
  • NALSAR University of Law
  • BITS Pilani - Hyderabad

2014 Assembly election analysis:

  • Telangana sentiment strongly worked in this constituency. In 2014, MLA Kichannagari Laxma Reddy was not in the favor of Telangana movement. He even made statements in support of United Andhra Pradesh.
  • The Telangana agitators also demanded Laxma Reddy to resign as an MLA, but he did not agree to it. He was targeted and word spread about him that the INC candidate was a non-local candidate. In the 2014 Assembly elections, Laxma Reddy was defeated by the TRS.
  • Telangana agitators were against Laxma Reddy and supported TRS candidate Malipeddi Sudheer Reddy in the 2014 Assembly elections.
  • Thotakura Jangaiah Yadav who contested from the TDP, tried to consolidate the votes of BCs but failed.
  • Nakka Prabhakar Goud who expected the ticket from the TDP but was denied, ended up supporting the TRS candidate and divided the votes from the BC community
  • The Goud community also supported the TRS candidate as he was backed by a loyal BC cadre.

2018 Assembly election Analysis:

  • In the 2018 Assembly election, the TRS won by 87,990 votes.
  • Mission Bhagiratha successfully implemented in Kesara mandal.
  • The TRS chose Malkajgiri MP Mallareddy over Sudheer Reddy who was asked to contest as an MLA candidate from Medchal.

Current Situation:

  • Parliamentary elections disappointed Malla Reddy and to make his mark, he got four INC corporators from JawaharNagar to the TRS.
  • Malla Reddy is in the process of making Medchal an opposition free and to be the most powerful leader in the constituency
  • The INC cadre is building post Revanth Reddy's win and growing rapidly after he became the TPCC president.

Key Local Issues:

-Jawahar Nagar dumpyard.


-River pollution

Next Story

Similar Posts