Two-time Nampally AIMIM MLA Majid Hussain shifts base to Yakutpura

Majid Hussain is replacing Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri who has been a four-time MLA.His opponents are relatively unknown.

Two-time Nampally AIMIM MLA Majid Hussain shifts base to Yakutpura

District: Hyderabad

MLA: Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri

Reservation: GEN

Total Voters: 3,34,886

Booths: 332

Urban Voters: 100%

Rural Voters: 0%

Male: 52.10%

Female: 47.90%

Caste & Religious Demography

Gen + BC: 95.70%

SC: 2.20%

ST: 2.10%

Hindu: 21.00%

Muslim: 77.00%

Others : 2.00%

Candidates Profile

Jaffar Hussain Meraj (AIMIM)

He was born on January 26, 1960 to former MLA Ahmed Hussain who was a legislator from Seetarambagh in 1967. Meraj was first elected as a corporator from Tolichowki in 2009. He rose in the ranks and became the Deputy Mayor of Hyderabad from 2009 to 2012. In 2014, he was elected as MLA from Nampally constituency where he defeated Feroz Khan from the TDP by 17,296 votes. In the 2018 elections, Jaffer Hussain retained his seat by defeating Feroz Khan again who contested from a Congress ticket. This time he is contesting from Yakutpura.

Sama Sunder Reddy (BRS)

He is the BRS Yakutpura incharge. He is active on the ground and regularly holds padayatras. His father was an RSS member which inspired him to enter politics. He was a member of the GHMC’s standing committee but later shifted to the BJP. He was given a BRS ticket in 2018 from Yakutpura and got 22,617 votes and came second. He has been given the ticket yet again by the BRS.

K Ravi Raju (Congress)

He is relatively an unknown face in the constituency.

Veerender Yadav (BJP)

Yadav was born and brought up in Yakutpura and is affectionately known as Viru Bhai. He joined the BJP in 2012. The 48-year-old has been campaigning in Dabeerpura, Kurmaguda, Santoshnagar, IS Sadan for the past few days. He is confident of defeating the AIMIM.

Constituency information

  • There are seven GHMC divisions under the constituency namely Dabeerpura, Rein Bazar, Talabchanchalm, Gowlipura, Kurmaguda, IS Sadan and Santoshnagar
  • The AIMIM has won this seat in all election from 1989 to 2018 except in 1994 which was won by the MBT

2014 Election Analysis

The AIMIM has been strong here as always. Mumtaz Ahmed won for the fifth time defeating the BJP's Roopraj whose vote bank was primarily of North Indians.

2018 Election Analysis

The MIM high command decided to interchange the ticket between Syed Pasha of Charminar and Mumtaz Ahmed of Yakutpura due to internal reasons. However, both of them ended up winning their respective seats.

Next Story

Similar Posts