Telugu Cinema bags 4 National Awards for the year 2020; Full List inside

Music director Thaman won the National Award for Best Music (Songs) for the film Ala...Vaikunthapurramuloo.

Telugu Cinema bags 4 National Awards for the year 2020; Full List inside

The 68th National Film Awards were announced this evening for the movies released in 2020. Telugu Cinema didn't create a big impact this time but bagged only four awards. These four awards are surprise packages to the industry. Three of the four awards are given to small-budgeted flicks, and no one would have ever predicted that the films like Colour Photo and Natyam would bag the prestigious award.

On the flip side, the Tamil film Soorarai Pottru swept many major categories like Best Film, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Music (Background Score), and Best Screenplay.

Sandeep Raaj's maiden directorial venture Colour Photo bagged the Best Film (Telugu) National Award. Starring Suhaas and Chandini Chowdary in the lead roles, this film had a direct digital release on the Aha streaming platform in October 2020. Sai Rajesh produced the film.

Music director Thaman won the National Award for Best Music (Songs) for the film Ala...Vaikunthapurramuloo.This Allu Arjun-starrer family drama had a sensational album that gained nationwide popularity. Thaman rightly deserved the award for his impeccable effort in making the film's audio album an all-time blockbuster. It was expected that the film would also bag the wholesome entertainer award, but it went to Ajay Devgn's Tanhaji.

Dance-based film Natyam managed to win two National Awards. The film's make-up artist TV Ram Babu won the National Award for Best Makeup. The film's lead actress, Sandhya Raju, won the National Award for Best Choreography. She also played the lead role in the film and also produced it.

Suriya and Ajay Devgn won the Best Actor Award for Soorarai Pottru and Tanhaji, respectively. Aparna Balamurali won the Best Actress for Soorarai Pottru. Late Sachy won the Best Director Award for Ayyapanum Koshiyum. Soorarai Pottru won Best Film and Best Screenplay.

2020 was a pandemic year, and the government did not receive too many entries as the previous years. The awards will be presented later this year. The government will announce the recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2020 later.

Here is the full list of all winners:

Best Feature Film: Soorarai Pottru

Best Director: Sachy, Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Tanhaji

Best Actor: Suriya for Soorarai Pottru and Ajay Devgn for Tanhaji

Best Actress: Aparna Balamurali, Soorarai Pottru

Best Supporting Actor: Biju Menon, Ayyappanum Koshiyam

Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priya Chandramouli, Sivaranjaniyum Innam Sila Pengallum

Best Screenplay: Soorarai Pottru, Shalini Usha Nair and Sudha Kongara

Best Screenplay (Dialogue Writer): Madonne Ashwin, Mandela

Best Music Direction (Songs): Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo, Thaman S

Best Music Direction (Background Music): Soorarai Pottru, GV Prakash

Best Male Playback Singer: Rahul Deshpande for Mi Vasantrao

Best Female Playback Singer: Nanchamma, Ayyappanum Koshiyam

Best Lyrics: Saina, Manoj Muntashir

Best Audiography (Location Sound Recordist): Jobin Jayan, Dollu

Best Audiography (Sound Designer): Anmol Bhave, Mi Vasantrao

Best Audiography (Re-recordist of the final mixed track): Vishnu Govind and Sree Sankar for Malik

Best Choreography: Sandhya Raju, Natyam

Best Cinematography: Avijatrik, Supratim Bhol

Best Costume Design: Nachiket Barve and Mahesh Sherla, Tanhaji

Best Production Design: Anees Nadodi, Kappela

Best Editing: Sreekar Prasad, Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Make-up: TV Rambabu, Natyam

Best Stunt Choreography: Rajasekhar, Mafia Sasi and Supreme Sunder, Ayyappanum Koshiyum

Special Mention: Aimee Baruah (Semkhor), Vaanku, June, Kishore Kadam (Avwanchhit & Godakaath), and Varun Buddhadev (Toolsidas Junior)

Best Hindi Film: Toolsidas Junior

Best Kannada Film: Dollu

Best Malayalam Film: Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam

Best Tamil Film: Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Telugu Film: Colour Photo

Best Haryanvi Film: Dada Lakhmi

Best Dimasa Film: Samkhor

Best Tulu Film: Jeetige

Best Marathi Film: Goshta Eka Paithanichi

Best Bengali Film: Avijatrik

Best Assamese Film: The Bridge

Best Child Artist: Anish Mangesh Gosavi for Tak-Tak

Best Children's Film: Sumi

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation: Talendanda

Best Film on Social Issue: Funeral

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Mandela

Next Story

Similar Posts