BRS's Palla Rajeshwar Reddy is fighting a Congress strongman Kommuri Pratap Reddy in Jangaon

Ponnala Lakshmaiah's oing into the BRS, making MLA Muthireddy as RTC Chairman are likely to bolster chances of Palla Rajeshwar Reddy in Jangaon

BRSs Palla Rajeshwar Reddy is fighting a Congress strongman Kommuri Pratap Reddy in Jangaon

Assembly constituency: Jangaon

District: Jangaon

MLA: Muthireddy Yadagiri Reddy (Reddy)

Reservation: GEN

Total Voters: 2,22,492

Booths: 277

Urban Voters: 17%

Rural Voters: 83%

Male: 50.2%

Female: 49.8 %

Caste & Religious Demography

Gen + BC: 73%

SC: 20%

ST: 7%

Hindu: 94 %

Muslim: 5%

Others : 1%


Palla Rajeshwar Reddy (BRS)

Palla Rajeshwar Reddy was born on November 4, 1963, to Palla Raghava Reddy and Anusuya Reddy. He is married to Suryadevara Neelima, and the couple has two sons.

Palla Rajeshwar Reddy, M.Sc., Ph.D., is an educationist and well-known social activist.

He served on the Telangana Legislative Council from March 30, 2015 to March 29, 2021.

From August 27, 2016 to September 6, 2019, he served as the government whip in the Telangana Legislative Council. On December 6, 2019, he was appointed Director & Chairman of Telangana Rashtriya Rythu Samanwaya Samithi.

Kommuri Pratap Reddy (Congress)

Kommuri Pratap Reddy an educationalist and philanthropist is the founder of Kommuri Pratap Reddy Institute of Technology (KPRIT) in in Ghatkesar.

Kommuri Pratap Reddy is a Jangaon District Congress Committee (DCC) member and the former MLA from Cherial Assembly constituency from 2004 to 2009.

Dr. Arutla Dashmanth Reddy (BJP)

The BJP Jangaon district president is Dr. Arutla Dashmanth Reddy, an Osmania University graduate. Dashmanth Reddy, who began his political career as a student at Osmania University, is contesting on behalf of the BJP in the 2023 Assembly elections.

Assembly constituency


This Assembly constituency has seven mandals: Jangaon, Bachannapet, Cheriyal Narmetta, Tharigoppula, Madhur and Komuravelli.


This Assembly constituency was formed in 1952. The Communists dominated it until the Congress took over this constituency.

Former MLA and PCC president Ponnala Laxmaiah represented this Assembly constituency for three consecutive terms until 2014. After losing to the TRS in 2014, the Congress began to lose its grip on Jangaon.

MLA profile

Personal background

Muthireddy Yadagiri Reddy, a Reddy community member, is a realtor and one of Telangana's richest MLAs. He owns the NOMA function hall in Hyderbad. He is originally from Hyderabad, and his wife belongs to Jangaon.

Political background

In 1983, he joined the Congress but resigned due to lack of opportunities and joined the TRS, leveraging his Telangana movement background.

He became the TRS incharge of the Telangana movement due to his financial resources, remained in the party, and was elected as an MLA.

2014 Assembly constituency analysis

Ponnala Laxmaiah who faced strong anti-incumbency was defeated in the 2014 elections by Muthireddy Yadagiri Reddy. Muthireddy was highly benefited from the Telangana movement wave.

Laxmaiah, a former minister in various cabinets, was defeated in 2014 due to his inactive participation in the Telangana movement during the agitation.

Ponnala Laxmaiah's efforts to address the issues of BCs and marginalized groups were met with resistance from upper castes and privileged communities.

Laxmaiah gained support primarily from the BCs, Dalits, and Munnurukapus. Reddies, felt disheartened during Laxmaiah's MLA tenure from 1999 to 2009. Hence, they supported Muthireddy's candidacy through the TRS in 2014, contributing to his victory.

The BJP candidate, Kommuri Pratap Reddy, who switched from the TRS to the BJP, received few votes because the alliance between the two parties failed. The BJP was a weak force that relied heavily on the TDP vote bank in 2014 Assembly elections.

2018 Assembly constituency analysis

Muthireddy Yadagiri Reddy, the incumbent MLA, achieved victory in the 2018 assembly elections by expanding his party presence to every village in the constituency.

The TRS candidate's success was largely due to his strong financial background and the support of the hardworking Reddy community.

Kuruma, Yadav, and Goud communities flocked to the TRS, bolstering their electoral victory. Despite being accused of land grabbing and other allegations, the TRS MLA candidate won the elections.

The Congress candidate, Ponnala Laxmiah, was unable to influence the public as effectively as the TRS candidate, as Madhigas switched their support to the TRS.

The alliance with the TDP sent a negative message to the general public, and Laxmaiah received only Munnurukapu and the Communist party support.

The TRS's sheep distribution scheme helped the party gain support in Jangaon, where Kurumas and Yadavs were in the majority.

The TRS has appointed a Yadav community member as Chairman of the Komuravelli Mallanna temple board, a position that was never previously granted to Yadavas.

The community's support for the TRS was solidified through this shift.

Current situation

TRS MLA Muthi Reddy Yadagiri Reddy is facing serious allegations, including trespassing on Bathukamma Kunta Lake Shikam property. Collector Devasena even filed a complaint against him.

He is accused of trespassing on Renuka Ellamma temple property in Komuravelli and government property in Janagam town, allegedly under the guise of constructing a Durga temple.

Ponnala Laxmaiah, a former PCC president, is actively challenging the MLA's alleged corruption in the assembly constituency. The Congress is not particularly active in this area.

The lack of significant opposition in the constituency makes it challenging for Congress to exert its influence. The local public is not aware of the presence of the BJP candidate, Dr. Arutla Dashmanth Reddy, while Congress leader Kommuri Prathap Reddy is actively participating in the assembly constituency.

The BJP should concentrate on enhancing its regional presence and activities by strengthening its party.

Key local issues

  • The renovation of Jangaon railway station and Komuravelli Mallanna flyover.
  • The construction of a new bus stand
  • Jangaon and the expansion of the vegetable market in the town.
  • Improved hospital facilities in the district headquarters, with a need for a hundred-bed hospital and well-maintained Primary Health Centers (PHCs) in mandal headquarters.
  • Underground drainage system.
  • Expansion of internal roads
  • Basic infrastructure
  • The establishment of an industrial and IT corridor in Jangaon, including engineering and PG colleges.
  • Setting up an Agriculture research center.
  • Establishing a Sericulture research center
Next Story

Similar Posts