Mecha Nageswar Rao of BRS seeking re-election, while fighting a novice Adinarayana of Congress

Mecha Nageswar Rao, who was elected on the TDP ticket, joined the BRS and is trying to handle internal dissensions within BRS.

Mecha Nageswar Rao of BRS seeking re-election, while fighting a novice Adinarayana of Congress

Assembly Constituency- Aswaraopeta (ST)

District: Bhadradri Kothagudem

MLA: Mecha Nageswara Rao (BRS)

Reservation: ST

Total Voters: 1,51,154

Booths: 184

Urban Voters: 0%

Rural Voters: 100%

Male: 49.22%

Female: 50.78%

Caste & Religious Demography

  • Gen + BC: 44.10%
  • SC: 12.30%
  • ST: 43.60%
  • Hindu: 94%
  • Muslim: 4.00%
  • Others : 1.00%


Mecha Nageswara Rao (BRS)

Nageswara Rao was born on June 16,1965 in Aswaraopeta. He hails from an agricultural family. He began his political journey with the TDP. He worked as a sarpanch for 10 years from Moddulagudem.

In the 2018 Assembly elections, he contested as an MLA for the first time on behalf of the TDP. He defeated TRS (now BRS) candidate Thati Venkateswarlu with a majority of 13,117 votes. In April 2021, he shifted his loyalties to the TRS from the TDP.

In the 2023 Assembly elections, he is contesting as an MLA for the second time on behalf of the BRS. He is going to take on Congress candidate Jare Adinarayana and Jana Sena candidate M Uma Devi.

Jare Adinarayana (Congress)

Adinarayana worked as a physical education teacher in Sunnambatti in Khammam district. He began his political career with the Congress in 2014. He is a close aide of former MP Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy. He is a novice. In the 2023 Assembly elections, he is contesting as an MLA for the first time on behalf of the Congress.

M Uma Devi (Jana Sena)

Uma Devi is the only woman among the eight candidates being fielded by the Jana Sena in Telangana as part of their alliance with the BJP. She began her political career with the Jana Sena. She is a novice. In the 2023 Assembly elections, she is contesting as an MLA from Aswaraopeta Assembly constituency.

Assembly constituency information


  • This constituency was formed in 2009, due to delimitation, before that it was part of Sathupalli Assembly constituency.
  • It is a rural constituency and it is a part of Khammam Parliament constituency.
  • Mulikalapalle, Velairpadu, Kukunoor, Chandrugonda, Aswaraopeta and Dammapeta Mandals are part of this Assembly constituency.
  • This Assembly constituency borders West Godavari and Krishna districts of Andhra Pradesh.

Political Background

  • Before the 2009 Assembly elections, it was part of Sattupalli Assembly constituency . Due to delimitation in 2009, it was separated and reserved for the ST community.
  • The Koya and the Kapu community play a very important role in the election process; they constitute around 50 per cent of the voting population.
  • The TDP was very strong in this constituency, due to the presence of Kamma, BC, and Andhra settler votes.
  • Sitting TDP MLA Mecha Nageswara Rao joined the ruling TRS and he took away the TDP cadre with him.

2014 Assembly elections Analysis:

  • In the 2014 Assembly elections, the constituency saw a multiparty contest between the YSRCP, the TDP, the Congress and the TRS.
  • TDP leader Thati Venkateswarlu joined the YSRCP before the elections. He was able to secure a majority of votes from the Koya community because of YS Rajasekhar Reddy’s image. Because of its proximity to Andhra there was a large chunk of Andhra votes which were divided between the TDP and the YSRCP in the constituency.
  • The TDP was able to secure votes from the BC and Kapu communities because of the alliance with the BJP and Pawan Kalyan. However, after the election sitting MLA Thati Venkateswarlu joined the ruling TRS party.

2018 Assembly elections Analysis:

  • Sitting TRS MLA Thati Venkateswarlu contested again in the elections. He was defeated because of anti-incumbency and lack of development works taken up during his tenure.
  • Venkateswarlu did not had good relations with Thummala Nageswara Rao and Ponguleti Srinivasa Rao which led to lack of cooperation within the party.
  • In the 20218 Assembly elections, Mecha Nageswar Rao contested on behalf of the TDP. He won because of an alliance with the Congress and he was able to split the ST and SC votes from the TRS.

Current Situation

  • Sitting MLA Mecha Nageswar Rao joined the BRS which led to squabbles in the party cadre.
  • Both the Congress and BJP are lacking a strong leadership

Key local issues

  • 100-bed hospital in Aswaraopeta town.
  • Government degree college
  • Lack of access to healthcare facilities in tribal hamlets.
  • RTO office
  • Illegal sand mining
Next Story

Similar Posts